Writer on the Beach: Insecure Writer’s Support Group Post #1

Oh! At the suggestion of a critique group mate, I’m trying out this blog hop thing.

Thanks to the Insecure Writer’s Support Group for hosting this! It’s nice to have someone else choose a topic once in a while!

Today’s question: Win or not, do you usually finish your NaNo project? Have any of them gone on to be published?

For me, that is a big fat no! And I have zero shame. I found out about NaNoWriMo maybe fifteen or more years ago? I always, always had a plan when I tried it in subsequent years. But I never could get past a day or two, despite all my planning and preparing, downloading guides, creating spreadsheets to track my word count, connecting with other writers on the forums, &c…

I have come to accept this part of my writer self. I can’t let writing have too much pressure attached to it. The work needs to come as it does, and as I want it. Mostly because my process takes a lot of time, and turning down the wrong pathway can truly lead a story astray. (My brain tosses in some great–though not plot-supportive–twists.)

So, I’ve never won NaNoWriMo, technically. But I have written about four novels? (And about six versions of one of those!) I’ll take it.

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

Leave a Reply

