Writing on the Beach: Facing the block…

Hi all! I know it’s been a while. I’ve been bogged down with life things. Which kind of inspired my post for today.

I’m facing the Block. Writer’s Block. Big Time.

The funny part is I have a bunch of different ideas I’ve been excited to work on. I also have sequel ideas (series ideas, really). So I’m not short on inspiration so much as motivation.

I did actually start a new novel. I got about five pages in and something felt… Off. It felt forced. Or like it had no energy.

Funnily enough, I had already planned a beginning for this novel, but it had been so long that I forgot my plans and wrote something different. After my memory jogged a bit, I went and wrote what I originally envisioned. And what came out was much more satisfying.

Part of it is that I’m a little out of practice. I’ve spent a lot of my time the past few years revising something that already existed. Here I am creating something novel-length out of essentially nothing again. It’s a good thing. But definitely a challenge!

 

2 thoughts on “Writing on the Beach: Facing the block…”

Leave a Reply

