Writing on the Beach: Pitch Wars 2017

A week later… I am finally posting about how, yes, I actually submitted to Pitch Wars!

While I’m eager to hear the results, I’ve been pretty calm about it. Part of it is because I’ve been through the querying and submission processes, so I’m no stranger to writing-related waiting. But part of it also is the truth to what many say about the Pitch Wars experience–even if you’re not selected to work with a mentor and enter the showcase, you win.

Whatever happens, I have another draft of my novel shined up and ready to go out into the world right now. I can’t argue with that.

In the meantime, I’ve been entertaining some other manuscript ideas and heroines I look forward to writing about. I’ve even dabbled with possibly doing a contemporary project. Like, without magic or sci-fi. At all. (Ironically, that’s the one I worry about pulling off.)

I’ve said throughout my life that having stories in my head is like breathing for me. I honestly have no idea what it’s like to not walk around with scenes and ideas coming and going. It’s nice to have a reason to take a break and embrace… well… breathing.

Good luck to everyone who submitted! And many thanks to the Pitch Wars mentors, and especially Brenda Drake and the Pitch Wars staff for pulling this off year after year. Whew. I cannot imagine how it is behind the scenes.

 

 

Leave a Reply

