Pitch Wars #PimpMyBio 2017

Hello Pitch Wars! Here’s my #PimpMyBio.

rei wave

This is me:

My name’s Charlie. I live in Southern California and I have some publications in poetry, short fiction, and nonfiction. When I’m not writing short fiction or YA SFF, I work for a nonprofit.

The manuscript I’m entering into Pitch Wars has been in the works for a few years (and a few rewrites and a few critique group betas), but I’m at a stage where entering Pitch Wars means a great opportunity to take my work to the next level.

pusheen exercise
Slow and steady…
I’m new to this competition opportunity. While I know it’s possible I won’t get in, after interacting with folks at #PitchWars and #ontheporch, I’m happy to have found such a friendly and generous community of people. Whenever I can give some kind of advice or help in return, it’s a great feeling.

This is my ms: 

Title: Rise a Knight

Category: YA Contemporary Fantasy

Pitch: Cadence is shot, then learns she’s a reincarnated knight. Reborn enemies are hunting knights for magic. In one day, Cadence races to stop them before they steal the power that ended her dead world.

Comps: Once Upon a Time meets 24.

once upon a time snow sword
All of this has happened before and will happen again…
Inspiration: This ms is #ownvoices for several reasons. But I honestly just wanted a cool story with a hero I could identify with.

percy jackson
Like this but with someone Asian and female.
This is my heart all over my ms:

  • My hero is a pacifist. She wants to save the world and the bad guys.
  • ❤️ The absolutely epic backstory. I love mythology and folklore. The ancient world my characters came from is based on those, with a history robust enough to be its own novel series. Speaking of which…
  • My main character is from my first two novels, which are drawer novels. I thought I would never get to write about her again… But she came back as a reincarnation! And I’ve spent the last 7 years on this ms, so this version of her is sticking around.
  • The story passes the Bechdel test. (YES!)

IMG_0080
I made an aesthetic for this ms! Thanks to the #PitchWars community for inspiring me to try this. (Y’all also got me to try using gifs to express myself… I may never be the same!)
Me & writing are like…

  • I have a Masters degree in Creative Writing. I know how to take a beating constructive criticism. (And give it in return…)
  • That said, I’ve taken courses in publishing basics, poetry, fiction, graphic novel, screenwriting, and television writing… I’m always happy to answer questions in my wheelhouse.
  • Dialogue is my strength. It comes easily. Physicality (setting/movement) requires more attention.
  • I have performed two memoir pieces on stage!
  • I once wrote an entire 20-page paper with a 102 fever in one day… Two weeks early… (Dedication~!)
  • I have embraced the fact that I will always think of at least five edits after I hit send/submit/update.

Other facts:

  • I make it a life requirement to regularly visit the beach. (As you can tell by looking around…)
  • I LOVE listening to epic/movie trailer music from Two Steps from Hell, Audiomachine, Brand X Music, Immediate Music, Full Tilt, etc… it’s pretty much guaranteed I’ll get inspiration/an idea while doing so.
  • Recently, I’ve enjoyed watching Dark Matter, Into the Badlands, and Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D…. I am all over the badassery of Asian and/or female characters.
  • About four years ago, I went to see a kitten who needed a home. She laid at my feet.

luna
Her name is Luna. Like the Ravenclaw. Sometimes she types with her face.
Some highly ranked reads:

  • Good Omens by Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett
  • Misfit by Jon Skovron
  • Dirk Gently’s Holistic Detective Agency by Douglas Adams
  • The Alienist by Caleb Carr
  • On Writing by Stephen King
  • Graceling by Kristin Cashore
  • White Cat by Holly Black
  • Cinder by Marissa Meyer
  • The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater
  • In Our Time by Ernest Hemingway
  • Blink by Malcolm Gladwell
  • Save the Cat by Blake Snyder
  • The Unfinished World and Other Stories by Amber Sparks
  • Hart & Boot & Other Stories by Tim Pratt

… and many more.

In closing:

That’s me! Thanks to Lana Pattinson, who hosts the Pitch Wars #PimpMyBio blog hop here. Also, many thanks to Brenda Drake (and everyone else who helps) for running Pitch Wars.

Questions? Comments? Special requests?? I look forward to meeting/interacting with you all! (And if you think we might be a CP match, please reach out! I’d love a long-term CP match.)

Now, let’s get out there and tear it up, Pitch Warriors!

psych vicious
Game face time.

Leave a Reply

